Baking With Buddy: Richie’s Turkey Meatloaf

You’re likely wondering who is Richie and what’s so fabulous about his meatloaf? Honestly, I have no idea who Richie is, but his meatloaf recipe is amazing. This is absolutely one of my favorite recipes, plus my husband loves it.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-5046-1376373621-7

Here’s the recipe, which I stumbled upon years ago via food.com:

Ingredients

    • 1 lb ground turkey breast
    • 1/3 cup quick-cooking oats
    • 1/4 cup nonfat milk
    • 1 egg, beaten
    • 1/3 cup chili sauce
    • 1 small onion, finely chopped
    • 1 small red pepper, finely chopped
    • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
    • salt and pepper
    • ketchup

Directions

  1. In small bowl combine oats and milk–let absorb about 10 minutes.
  2. Combine absorbed oats and all ingredients–except for ketchup– in a large bowl.
  3. Mix with large fork.
  4. Spray a 9×13 baking pan with cooking spray.
  5. Shape meat mixture into loaf.
  6. Brush with ketchup.
  7. Bake at 350 for 50 minutes.
  8. Enjoy.

20150114_170753It’s fairly easy to make. I use ground turkey breast, which I purchase in a large quantity at Wegman’s and then, using a food sealer, divide into one-pound portions for freezing. I also use Heinz chili sauce because it’s generally the only one I can find at the grocery store. As for oats, I think the canister I have in the cabinet right now is the Walmart brand, which works just fine. Keep in mind that this recipe is gluten free, but the jury is still out on oats. I can eat them with no problem, but that might not be the case for everyone.

20150114_171519Also, worth noting, instead of using a baking pan, I use a Pyrex loaf pan. And, because turkey is fairly moist, I drain the pan once or twice about halfway through cooking so that it won’t be too mushy when finished. After draining, I typically add a little more ketchup to the top, but that’s a personal preference.

Other than that, I really just follow the instructions included in the recipe. I hope you’ll try this one, and be sure to let me know if you love it as much as I do.

20150114_194334

Leave a Reply

