Amazon, what are you doing to me?

imagesI’ll start off by saying I’m a loyal Amazon shopper and I have been for years, even back in the early 2000s when it was really limited to basically just books. As a college student, I signed up for Prime using the student discount and continued to renew it without pause. However, recently my renewal hit a snag.

Like most Amazon shoppers, up until recently I had a variety of payment methods linked to my account, many of which were expired and only on there because I hadn’t thought it necessary to take them off. Imagine my surprise when I find out one of those old, very much expired cards was used in January to renew my Prime account.

The card used was not only expired, but had been paid off for years. Since a big part of credit scores now are how long you’ve had credit, I kept it open since it was my oldest card. I never imagined Amazon would use it, not only because it was very much expired, but also because it wasn’t the payment method on file for my Prime renewal.

By the time I found out what had happened, I had already missed two payments on the card, earning me $60 in late fees. I immediately called the card company and was able to get one reversed, but then had to call Amazon and explain the issue. They were very apologetic for the mix-up and credited back the $99, covering my 2015 Prime renewal fee because of their mistake.

Once Amazon credited back their side of it, I was then able to call the card company and get the other fee, plus the interest charges credited back, sending me back to a zero balance where I belonged. I thought everything was straightened out until I was notified the next day that my credit score had dropped–37 points–because of the two missed payments. Really, that’s the part that ticks me off the most. I never miss a payment and I can’t stand the idea that now I look like a delinquent person.

So back to the card company I went. They’re supposed to be sending a letter to the credit reporting agency explaining the issue. They routinely report to the agency following each billing cycle so I’m still waiting for that part of the mix-up to get fixed. Really, the whole thing has been a nightmare and one I want to help others avoid so if you have an Amazon account follow these steps:

  • Login to your Amazon account
  • In the upper bar, click on the box that says “Hello, ____ YOUR ACCOUNT”
  • Click “Manage Payment Options”
  • Delete any cards you don’t plan to use, even if they are expired

This should help you avoid any random card charging issues like the one I just experienced because believe me, you don’t want to have to deal with this mess. And yes, I’m still a loyal Amazon customer, but had they not been so apologetic I may have changed my stance.

Leave a Reply

