Reviews You Can Use: Dessange Oleo Miracle Replenishing Three Step System

20150326_211720Recently, I had the opportunity to test out the new Dessange Oleo Miracle Replenishing Three Step System. It consists of a shampoo, a conditioner and a leave-in replenishing oil treatment, all designed to replenish dry, damaged hair. It’s easy to use, starting first with the shampoo and conditioner and then applying the treatment and the bottles are made to look very high-end, with a mix of golds and coppers, fairly unusual hair product colors which I’m sure will make them pop on the shelves. Also, the scent isn’t horrible–kind of a spicy, cologne style versus the usual clean florals of many shampoos.

20150326_215435

Fresh from the shower post-conditioner and yet frizzy and dry.

Now, with that said, the product just fell flat for me. I used it for a week, although if I had purchased it, I probably would have quit much sooner. The whole system is all about its “three precious oils–argan, camellia and pracaxi.” What it doesn’t highlight, of course, is that the second ingredient in the shampoo is a sulfate, plus its full of a variety of alcohol and other chemicals. The oils aren’t listed until much lower in the ingredient list, signifying that there’s probably not much of them actually in the bottle. Because of the ingredients, I wasn’t really surprised when it massively dried my hair out. The “replenishing” conditioner didn’t do much to help the situation. Then, adding the oil, which you’re encouraged to use 2-3 dime size drops, I used two, somehow creates this oily, grease slick, yet frizzy and dry hair. It’s fairly odd and I’m definitely not a fan. I have very long, thick hair and moisture is important to me. This just didn’t work. I’m not sure why something that is supposed to be replenishing would use ingredients that are obviously not replenishing. Then, to get the shiny hair it says it’ll give you, it’s like they just said let’s oil things up, because oil creates shine, right?  Yeah, I’m fairly certainly that’s not the kind of shine we’re looking for. The whole thing just made me want to rewash my hair.

20150326_220033

Post oil application which creates an oily, greasy, unclean feeling.

Something I also found odd was that the largest portion of the text on the bottle, minus the ingredients list, is all about the creator. There’s only a few lines actually describing the product itself. That’s nice that the owner was a word-renowned hairstylist in France back in the 1950s, but tell me how fabulous your product is. I can Google him.

Bottom line, I’m not a fan and this product wasn’t for me. There are some who may absolutely love it, but it definitely wasn’t my cup of tea.

I received these products free from Influenster for testing purposes. I was not compensated for my review.
Leave a Reply

