Baking with Buddy: Parmesan Crusted Tilapia

Let’s talk about fish baby, let’s talk about you and me…20140630_200759

If I haven’t mentioned it before, I’m a huge fish fan. Really, I’m a big fan of seafood in general, but I love trying different types of fish, from the more fishy options to the less fishy options, like tuna and even, I know forgive me here, fish sticks.

images

Tilapia is an easy go-to for nights when I want to eat healthy, but also have something that tastes well and isn’t complicated. My favorite tilapia recipe has to be this one from Rachel Ray:


Parmesan-Crusted Tilapia

20140630_200421Makes: 4 servings

ingredients

  • 3/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1 tablespoon chopped flat-leaf parsley
  • tilapia fillets (about 1 pound total)
  • lemon, cut into wedges
directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees . In a shallow dish, combine the cheese with the paprika and parsley and season with salt and pepper. Drizzle the fish with oliveoil and dredge in the cheese mixture. Place on a foil-lined baking sheet and bake until the fish is opaque in the thickest part, 10 to 12 minutes. Serve the fish with the lemon wedges.20140630_202915

See? So easy! I actually cut the recipe down to make only two fillets and skip the lemon wedges. I use Simply Balanced fish because it’s sustainable and also I can avoid the disaster that is Fukushima seafood. I know there’s conflicting reports on that, but I’d like to err on the side of caution. I want my fish to have two eyeballs, not ten. Plus, this time, I didn’t have grated Parmesan and used shredded Parmesan instead. It worked, but the cheese browned more than the grated usually does. Also, I don’t use a foil-lined baking sheet. Instead, I use a shallow Pyrex baking dish sprayed with non-stick Pam Organic Olive Oil. Comes out perfectly. You know you want fish now…

first-date-dont-order-too-much-gif

 

I do not own this recipe. This post represents my own experience and take on it.
Leave a Reply

