DIY Fourth of July: Gigantic Patriotic Cookie

20140704_181919It’s here! It’s finally the fourth of July! If you’ve been following my posts, you should be all decorated. Now, you need dessert. Enter the gigantic, festive cookie! Seriously, it’s so big, it actually spilled over the sides of my pan and I’ll need to de-cookify the oven. Moving on… I used a recipe from Around My Family Table and tweaked it. Here’s the portion I used:

Giant Patriotic Chocolate Chip Cookie {Gluten Free/Vegan}

 1-2 batches of chocolate chip cookies, prepared as directed, but not baked

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees and spray cookie/pizza pan with nonstick cooking spray.
  • Prepare cookie mix according to package/recipe instructions. (You will probably need two mixes to fill the pan.) Spread cookie dough evenly in pan, pressing all the way to the edges. Bake for 15 minutes and then check every few minutes until cookies are baked and almost fully set in the middle.
  • Remove from oven and let cool completely.
  • Decorate with red white and blue icing
20140704_161244
 
Their recipe calls for handmade icing. I wasn’t feeling up to that so I decided to cheat and purchased Wilton icing instead. As a tip, you’ll need one tube for the blue and two tubes for the red. I found this out the hard way when I was halfway through decorating and ran out of icing.
 
tumblr_m9o9wpIslj1qip73ao2_250
 
For the cookie itself, I used two boxes of Betty Crocker Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Mix. Each box requires one stick of butter (I used Simply Balanced Organic Unsalted Butter), one egg (I used brown eggs) and one teaspoon of gluten free Vanilla (I used McCormick).
  • 20140704_162925Following the directions from the original recipe, I prepared the two boxes of cookie mix using my KitchenAid Mixer. If you don’t have one, break down and buy one. You’ll love it and, if you look hard enough, you can find them at a great price thanks to sales. I also used the KitchenAid Flex Edge Beater which actually scrapes the bowl as you mix. My parents gave me the attachment as part of a Christmas gift and I love it. I don’t have to occasionally stop the mixer to scrape the bowl.
  • Once the mix was prepared, I scooped it into my Chefmate Pizza Pan. You really have to press down on the dough and work it a bit to get it to spread out and fill the entire pan, up to the edges.20140704_163555
  • Bake your massively large cookie for about 15 minutes at 350 degrees. There’s almost a little too much dough for the pan, so the cookie will spill over when it’s baking. I actually left it in the pan once it was done cooking and trimmed around the edges to make it perfectly round. It was far too heavy to try to move onto something else.
 
tumblr_m9o9wpIslj1qip73ao3_250
 
 
  • Let the cookie cool completely before decorating. This is a perfect time to eat the pieces that you trimmed off.
 
giphy
 
 
  • Using the blue icing, draw the square for the flag and fill it in. You can use a butter knife dipped in water to help evenly spread the icing.
  • 20140704_172654Using the white icing, draw the stripes, leaving space for the red stripes between. Also, with a star tip, add white stars to the blue square.
  • Fill in the empty space between the white stripes with red, finishing up the flag design.
  • Rejoice in your cookie talent. And, of course, eat it!

Happy fourth of July!

 
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

