Hold the veggies, keep the loaf…

20140529_144757If you’ve read this blog, you know that I’m a gluten free goddess. No, I don’t run around referring to myself as “the goddess” or “gfg” because then you’d hate me, but I am gluten free and what that means is sometimes I find myself eating some unusual things in the sake of time. It’s not easy being gluten free and having to figure out what to take for lunch everyday, especially when you work in a rural area where there’s gluten aplenty.

Behold, the veggie loaf. Paired with mashed potatoes and peas and carrots, plus made by Amy’s, it can’t be bad, right? Wrong. I’m fairly open-minded, I can try new things, but veggie loaf won’t be on my shopping list again any time soon.

20140529_150017You think it’s going to be like meatloaf, but made out of vegetables, kind of like one of those MorningStar chicken nuggets that taste fairly close to chicken, but aren’t chicken. Veggie loaf is a whole other ballgame. It’s a loaf and it’s made out of veggies, but not how you would think. It’s kind of green inside and has whole peas and other vegetables in it. Plus, it’s mushy and all of that combined doesn’t make for a good non-meat loaf. The mashed potatoes and peas and carrots were great, but the veggie loaf is not my thing.

I love Amy’s, in fact I had a great broccoli and cheddar bowl made by them yesterday, but I won’t be venturing down the veggie loaf path again for a very, very long time.

I was not compensated for this review. It represents my own experience with the product.
Leave a Reply

