Baking with Buddy: Crockpot Pulled BBQ Sandwiches

20140321_180436Let me just start by saying, I love this recipe. As in I really love it. As in I can’t wait to make it again. As in don’t go to a BBQ joint for dinner because it won’t be as good as this recipe! I think you get the point.

Per usual, I found this recipe via Pinterest. It comes from the “Mom, What’s for Dinner?” blog which is all about a woman who is cooking gluten free since her daughter has celiac disease. I like it because we seem to have a lot in common in that we both like to take recipes and adapt them into a gluten free version. Here’s the recipe:

Recipe adapted from Six Sisters’ Stuff
3-4 pound pork shoulder roast
3 Tablespoons paprika
1 Tablespoon salt
1 Tablespoon pepper
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp dry mustard
1/3 cup liquid smoke
1 (16-20 oz) bottle of your favorite BBQ sauce
1) Spray the inside of slow cooker with non-stick cooking spray.
Combine paprika, salt, pepper, garlic powder, mustard and liquid smoke in a small bowl.
2) Rub all over the roast, covering all sides.
3) Place lid on slow cooker and bake on low for 8-10 hours (or high 5-6 hours). Shred meat when finished and strain meat. Add bottle of your favorite gluten free BBQ sauce.
4) Serve on  Kinninnick Gluten Free Buns  and enjoy!
20140320_100335I found my pork shoulder at Food Lion, which is rare for me since I’m not a huge fan of their meat. It was a little fatty, so I would probably recommend opting for one that’s a little leaner. I already had all the spices, but I did purchase the Liquid Smoke since I hadn’t heard of that before. It comes in a small bottle, similar in shape to a Tabasco bottle and was fairly inexpensive. I would recommend including it, because I think it made a huge difference. It gives the barbecue that pit-smoked flavor. I’m usually not one for a smokey flavor/smell, but I loved this so that should tell you something.
20140320_100914Using my ingredients, I created my rub, which is almost like a paste, and rubbed it all over the pork shoulder. I then placed the seasoned meat in the crockpot on low for 9 hours. The timing turned out perfect, but 8 hours would have probably been enough too. With the crockpot on warm, my husband shredded the meat (I was at work), added in a bottle of Sweet Baby Ray’s Barbecue Sauce, which is his favorite, and left the meat in the crockpot on warm to soak up the sauce.

20140320_215752We paired the barbecue up with Ian’s Gluten Free Onion Rings and Bush’s Baked Beans. My husband ate his on a traditional bun, whereas I opted for a Schar Gluten Free bun (I’ve never heard of Kinninnick buns). It was amazing and by far the best homemade barbecue I’ve ever eaten. The hubs agreed so I must have been doing something right since he can be very particular about barbecue. It has a nice, thick moistness and isn’t runny or overly liquidy like some barbecue can be. I sincerely, enthusiastically, emphatically encourage everyone to try this recipe. I’m confident that you’ll love it. No, really, try it!

I was not compensated for this review. It represents my own experience with this recipe, which I encourage everyone to try out for themselves. And check out “Mom, What’s for Dinner?” for more gluten free recipes.
Leave a Reply

