Baking with Buddy: Crockpot Corned Beef and Cabbage

20140317_104926Let’s talk corned beef. First, let’s talk about how hard it is to find corned beef, not only the day before St. Patrick’s Day, but also the day before a rare St. Patrick’s Day snowstorm. After driving to various grocery stores, I finally found what I was looking for, but I really do suggest if you’re going to try this around leprechaun time shop early!

With that out of the way, let’s get into the recipe. I love corned beef and cabbage. It’s something my mom routinely made when I was growing up, but this was my first attempt at actually cooking it myself. I’ll also note that although the recipe is called Mom’s Corned Beef, it’s not my mom’s recipe, but rather the author’s mother’s recipe. Sorry mom.

The recipe I used is from “Four Generations One Roof” and I discovered it via Pinterest. Here it is.

20140317_105935Mom’s Corned Beef & Cabbage (crockpot)

Ingredients: 

1 small head of cabbage

1 large bag of carrots

5 Peeled potatoes

1 -2 lb Corned Beef

1 can beef broth

3 cups water

Italian seasoning or pepper (last hour of cooking)

Directions:

Add your carrots and cabbage to the crockpot. Add water and beef broth. Place corned beef on top an add your potatoes. You will need to stuff the potatoes on the side of the corn beef and down towards the vegetables. Cover and cook on high for 7 hours. Corned beef is very salty and flavorful so it’s not necessary to season at this point, unless of course you want to :)

20140317_112008Being that there’s just two of us, (me and the hubs, no corned beef for Buddy), I used approximately a 1lb. corned beef and a small head of cabbage. I also opted for a smaller bag of carrots, three potatoes and, being gluten free, made my beef broth using Better than Bouillon. I followed the instructions, peeling my carrots and potatoes until I couldn’t peel no more. I put the carrots and cabbage in the crockpot, followed by the beef broth and then the corned beef on top. I then stuffed the potatoes down towards the vegetables and cooked that joker on high for 7 hours. During the last 30 minutes, I added some Italian seasoning. I know it was supposed to be added for the last hour, but I forgot.

20140317_185416The dish came out great, although it wasn’t like mama fixed it. (Little Alan Jackson for you.) The cabbage wasn’t prominent enough, but the rest was fairly fabulous and kudos to me for getting in the Irish spirit. (Although I’m Scottish so my ancestors probably didn’t appreciate it.)  Really, it could have been made to a smaller scale though because we had a ridiculous amount of leftovers. Live and learn.

I have no affiliation with Four Generations One Roof and found their recipe via Pinterest. This post represents my experience with it.
Leave a Reply

