Baking with Buddy: Chicken fajitas, slow cooker style

Image

This is Buddy and we like to cook, a lot. Granted, his role is more moral support than anything since he just lays in the kitchen floor while I cook, but that counts, especially when I try to tackle something that’s on the complicated side and my husband isn’t here to catch my momentary meltdown.

Earlier this week, Buddy and I tackled chicken fajitas in the slow cooker. We got the recipe off Pinterest via the website Stacy Makes Cents. It’s one I’ve actually made before and held on to it for future use.

Crock Pot Chicken Fajitas

  • 1 yellow onion, sliced
  • 3 sweet peppers, sliced
  • 1 ½ pounds boneless chicken breast or thighs
  • 1/4 to ½ cup chicken broth, depending on preference (leave this out if you prefer a drier fajita filling)
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons cumin
  • 1 ½ tablespoons chili powder
  • Squirt of lime juice
  • Tortillas
  • Fajita fixings
  1. Combine sliced onion and peppers in the bottom of a greased crockpot.
  2. Lay chicken on top of veggies.
  3. Pour chicken broth over top.
  4. Sprinkle everything with cumin, salt, and chili powder.
  5. Give a nice quirt of lime juice over the top.
  6. Cover and cook on low for 4-8 hours (or on High for 4 hours) or until meat is shreddable.
  7. When meat is done, shred with two forks and stir back into juices. Serve meat mixture with slotted spoon on tortillas with your choice of fixings.

20140306_114852

The recipe calls for a yellow onion, but I made turkey meatloaf the day before and had half a white onion left over, so I used that instead. For peppers, I used green and yellow, which were left over from a three-pack I had also bought for the meatloaf. I also chose to use only 1/4 cup chicken broth (Wegman’s Organic Chicken Broth) since my chicken was still a little frozen in the middle and I didn’t want to end up with too much moisture. I put everything in the Crock-Pot, according to Stacy’s recipe, and cooked it on low for 8 hours. I had a late meeting for work, so the timing was perfect. 

20140306_204853

And who doesn’t love a slow cooker? You can just fix it and forget it. Fabulous! I have a programmable Crock-Pot so when the cook time is up, it automatically switches to warm. Love it! 

When I got home, the chicken was a little scary looking. I’ll admit it. However, once shredded it looked amazing.

I’m a gluten-free girl so I didn’t opt for the tortillas and I’ve yet to find a great corn tortilla, so I added shredded cheese and ate it paired with yellow rice, cooked by my husband while I was on my way home from work. It was pretty great. My only notes for next time would be to add lettuce and tomato along with shredded cheese post-cooking. I also think this would be great on chips, almost like chicken nachos. My husband said he’d up the spice factor, so maybe some additional peppers would help. I think it was definitely missing the red bell pepper, which I had included when I cooked it before. And Buddy? Well he only eats dog food (with the occasional treat), but I’m sure he enjoyed the smell.

20140306_205050And check out Stacy Makes Cents for more great recipes.

Leave a Reply

