331.365

Thirteen years ago, I was fortunate enough to get a best friend, one I had to absolutely beg for and who never let me down. One stray puppy came into our family and absolutely took it over. Rags will always be the best dog, the Marley, the Skip, the Old Yeller. In 13 years, we certainly had our adventures. There was blue pen incident, in which Rags somehow managed to eat my pen and turn himself completely blue. There was the time he decided to eat my moms perfume under her bed which resulted in the place reeking for weeks. I’ll always remember how one little dog somehow managed to take up the entire bed and how he would open his own stocking and roll in the wrapping paper. I’ll always remember how as a puppy he would lay on my stomach when I watched television and how he would try to do it once he got bigger and suffocate me. I’ll always remember his puppy days of losing teeth, destroying everything and chasing rabbits. I’ll remember dancing in the living room, playing hide and seek in the house and how he would let me dress him up and mess with his ears. Rags is the best dog and I will always love and miss him. No other dog will ever compare to him. He had the best personality,  like he just knew he was person and not a dog. I know I’m a better person because of him and I hope he knows how much he was loved. He was never just a dog, but rather a member of the family. I’m glad I was able to see him Saturday, pet him and talk to him. I knew he would go when he was ready, warm in the place that has been his home for his entire life. I didn’t know it would be so soon, but I guess he was ready. You try to prepare yourself for whats to come, but the truth is you can’t. No amount of preparation will make it hurt worse, but I know I’ll see him again. Until then, I’ll remember all of our good times and be incredibly thankful for the dog that went from rags to riches.

One thought on “331.365

Leave a Reply

