305.365

I wasn’t aware you had to dress a certain way to shop at the dollar store. Since Halloween is officially over, I decided to switch my decorations over from spooky cats and pumpkins to fall leaves and turkeys. In my quest for Thanksgiving items, I went to the dollar store. Now, when I was younger my mother shopped at the dollar store, not because that was all we could afford, but because of the unique items you can find there. She used to buy a certain type of chicken for chicken salads, peanuts for holiday parties and seasonal items, like pumpkin paper lanterns. She still does. Naturally, I followed suit. I’ll go the dollar store for holiday napkins, holiday-themed ziploc bags, etc. So I’m in the dollar store today at the register and I, like the rest of America, use my debit card to pay for my whopping $5.25 purchase. After swiping my card, the cashier asks me “Debit or Credit?” I said “credit” and that’s when it went weird. This blonde woman behind me, who had to be in her 40’s, with her daughter I might add, said very loudly, “At the dollar store. It must be an epidemic.” Are you serious? And it’s not like she thought she was funny. Oh no, the way she said it had “I’m a big loudmouth bitch” oozing out of it. I’m not sure what it was about me that offended her so much. Was it my Ugg boots, that I received as a Christmas gift from my husband several years ago; my Coach bag, that I purchased at a massive discount at the outlet for my birthday; or the Vera Bradley chain purse I pulled my card out of? Because if I have those things, I must be just over my head in massive credit card debt, right? If she had any brains about her, not to mention class, she would know that just because you say “credit,” it still comes out of your checking account. That’s why it’s called a debit card. I wasn’t aware that I had to be of a certain stature to shop at the dollar store. By stature, I mean rude, classless, loud and abrasive. The poor cashier had no idea what to say and told me to “have a nice day.” I smiled sweetly and replied “you too,” and left. Had I been in a worse mood, I probably would have said something, but just because she wants to teach her daughter that its okay to act like that in public, doesn’t mean I have to. And, it’s a really good thing I took my North Face off before I went in the store or she really would have had a fit.

 

One thought on “305.365

  1. cfbookchick says:

    Wow! How offensive! I guess she thinks that only white trash can shop at the dollar store? And as much as I hear this same type of thing in my own little world, it still just floors me.

Leave a Reply

