260.365

Today, our ship pseudo-docked at Half Moon Cay. Basically it just floated around in the ocean and we had to take tender boats to shore. Ron and I were up early, mostly thanks to Ron, so we were able to catch the first boat. We got on the island at about 8:50 a.m. and spent pretty much all day there, getting back to the ship around 3:15 p.m. Half Moon Cay is absolutely amazing. It was definitely a perfect way to celebrate our one year anniversary. If you ever get a chance to go there, please take it. The sand is super white and the water is this crazy clear blue color. All of these little fish swim around you and occasionally you can catch a little baby wave from the tender boats coming in and out. I rented a float for $11 and it was the best money I’ve spent thus far. I was able to just lay in the ocean and float around. Half Moon Cay is a private island in the Bahamas owned by Carnival and since no other ships were there, we had it all to ourselves. They have bars, of course, and waiters serve you drinks on the beach. They also serve a massive barbecue style lunch. You can parasail, rent boats, snorkel, rent cabanas, etc. We opted to just hang out on the beach and in the water. Sadly, the shop wasn’ t open when we left, so I didn’t get my prerequisite Christmas ornament, but they have some here on the ship that I add the place name to when I get home. Tommorrow is an at sea day and then Tuesday we’ll be in St. Thomas. I’m excited for St. Thomas because I’ve heard all of these amazing things about the Virgin Islands so I hope it lives up to the hype.

One thought on “260.365

Leave a Reply

